Firsts:FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I do not make a good first impression!!

As a result, I naturally mistrust first impressions…I take them always, with a pinch of salt. For some reason I always come across as insensitive, callous, pugnacious and my all time favourite, annoying. I am the kind of person who’ll ask you personal-they’re incisive if you ask me, questions on our first meeting, with either of two results: an extremely defensive reaction, or that unmistakable ‘somebody-please-save-me-he’s-a-weirdo’ look. I guess it does not help that by any definition, ‘I’m a short dude’! Hehe.Folk can forgive many unsavoury traits in a tall man-tall women are a musing for another day, but short guys!…you’re-look at me distancing myself, all expected to be sweet-sic! polite, well mannered, soft-spoken, grateful individuals-it’s the price you have to pay for your affliction. I mean, at the very least, you should be grateful I’m talking to you- at least until a tall-hell, I’ll take taller too, guy walks in.

Anyhow, I digress. Perhaps due, in part to the imperfections of my own first impression as well as the fact that I truly believe the only one with the license to judge is God-by whichever name, I do not fault anyone for the shortcomings of theirs. It’s amazing is it not? If you’re short…you must be defensive, if you have too much make-up on…you must be insecure, or call ill-lit streets and random countless motor vehicles your workplace, if you are a single, successful, 30 something year old career woman with her own set of wheels…you must be bitter, sexist, disillusioned or all three, with a rich man paying the bills to boot, if you drink President or Citizen…you must be cheap and from the wrong side of the ‘zip code’-woe unto you if you actually just happen to love these brands… I could go on and on. Yet beneath this obvious veneer there’s so much more that people are about. Much more than what they eat, drink, how they dress, what they buy…if only we have the patience to peel away these layers.

But of course this is the world of an idealist. These are the makings of eutopia…a place where humans possess infinite patience, a realm where first impressions are never actually justified, where though it looks talks and walks like a duck it’s actually a very good ventriloquist. A place, of course, that does not exist.

But a short man can hope. A short dude can pray his insensitivity and callousness are viewed as honesty; his pugnaciousness taken as determination, tenacity and energy…and his annoyance endearing.

So take a minute, give a brother, a sister a second shot…let him or her have a second go, they might just surprise you.

You there, if your first instinct is to condemn this blog to the Hades of the internet-where not even the lowliest venture…give a short dude another shot.

A short man can hope!